DEIA Committee

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Committee

The DEIA Committee currently comprises 17 members from four countries, representing all areas of NISO’s work — libraries, publishers, research infrastructure, service providers, and other  information community organizations — plus three NISO staff. They are charged with championing NISO’s DEI Policy to help achieve our goal of social justice in all our activities, including establishing priorities, identifying assessment criteria, and regularly monitoring and reporting on progress. The Committee will also serve as a resource for the NISO community, providing guidance on DEIA issues and advocating for under-represented groups.


  • Karim Boughida, University of Rhode Island Libraries (USA)
  • Salwa Ismail, University of California - Berkeley (USA)


  • Avram Anderson, Macalester College (USA)
  • Apurva Ashok, Rebus Foundation (Canada)
  • Camille Callison (member of the Tahltan Nation), University of the Fraser Valley (Canada)
  • Ben Fiore-Walker, American Chemical Society (USA)
  • Gregory Grazevich, Modern Language Association (USA)
  • Cindy Hohl, American Indian Library Association/Kansas City Public Library (USA)
  • Lorin Jackson, Medical University of South Carolina (USA)
  • Michael Johnson, Benetech (USA)
  • Rebecca McLeod,Harvard Data Science Review (USA)
  • Gabi Mejias, ORCID (Germany)
  • Rhonda Ross, Chemical Abstracting Service (USA)
  • Gabi Rundle, Emerald Publishing (UK)
  • Maria Stanton, Atla (USA)
  • Wayne Strickland, National Technical Information Service (USA)
  • Tony Zanders, Skilltype (USA)

NISO Staff

  • Todd Carpenter, Executive Director
  • Kimberly Graham, Office Manager
  • Alice Meadows, Director of Community Engagement

Sign up to receive alerts about our work!